NewAgeAvantGardeSmoovJazz: The music of David Jason Snow

Composer David Jason Snow (b. 1954) received his professional musical training at the Eastman School of Music (1972-1976) where he studied with Joseph Schwantner, Warren Benson, and Samuel Adler, and at the Yale School of Music (1976-1978) where he was a student of Jacob Druckman. While at Eastman, he was awarded the Bernard and Rose Sernoffsky Prize in composition (1974), the McCurdy Prize (1975), and the Howard Hanson Prize (1976), and at Yale he received the Frances E. Osborne Kellogg Prize (1978). Other honors include BMI Student Composer Awards (1977, 1979), Annapolis Fine Arts Foundation Composition Prizes (1981, 1983, 1984, 1985), an ASCAP Foundation Grant (1981), a National Association of Composers/USA Composition Prize (1981), a National Federation of Music Clubs Composition Prize (1981), National Endowment for the Arts Composer Fellowships (1982, 1985), a Meet the Composer Grant (1983), and Maryland State Arts Council Grants (1992, 1997). Snow has been awarded artist residencies at Yaddo (1981, 2000) and Millay Arts (2004), and commissions from the College Band Directors National Association Commission (1982) and the Renee B. Fisher Foundation (1997).

Among the organizations that have presented Snow's work in concert are the Ensemble Intercontemporain (Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris), the New Juilliard Ensemble (Museum of Modern Art, New York), the American Brass Quintet (John F. Kennedy Center, Washington, DC), the Yale Contemporary Ensemble (Sprague Hall, New Haven), the Yale University Band (Woolsey Hall, New Haven), the Harvard Wind Ensemble (Sanders Theater, Cambridge), and the Banda Municipal de Bilbao (Euskalduna Palace, Bilbao).

Except where noted, the scores and recordings listed on this page are protected by a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Creative Commons License

Compositions by David Jason Snow